Blackrock Quartet

Blackrock Quartet is the fourth in a series of publications contributing to a wider debate about the direction of architecture in Ireland.

It describes the design for the Blackrock Further Education Institute and Blackrock Public Library, a project combining new and old elements, incorporating three Protected Structures – the former Town Hall, Carnegie Library and Municipal Technical Schools – in a tripartite composition dating from 1860 and 1905, and an adjacent vacant site which wraps around two sides to create a compact urban block.

The book is extensively illustrated with drawings and photographs, and includes essays by Raymund Ryan, Hugh Campbell, Valerie Mulvin and Niall McCullough.

  • ISBN: 978-1-910140-06-2
  • Publisher: Gandon Editions
  • Published: 2014

Website Design and Development: WorkGroup